GAA World Games 2023

Preparations for the 2023 World Games are growing apace in the Antipodes. Australasia will send six teams to Derry in July.

The Australasia teams include:

  • Irish-born women’s football team
  • Irish-born men’s football team
  • international-born women’s football team
  • international-born men’s football team
  • camogie team
  • hurling team

Around 80 players across the six teams were selected following their stand-out performances in their respective competitions at the Australasia State Games in Melbourne in October 2022.

The games will see club and state allegiances put aside as players from Wellington to Perth line out in the green and gold of Australasia. We have competed at the games in 2015, 2016 and 2019.

The 2019 edition was our most successful, with five Australasia teams reaching the finals in Croke Park. Two of those – the Irish-born women’s footballers and the camogie team – were crowned world champions. In addition, two Australasia players – Karen Jones of the camogie team, and Lauren Saunders of the international-born women’s football team – picked up player of the tournament awards.

We’re hoping for more of the same success in July. Keep up to date with our World Games preparations on World Games 2023 page.

World Games 2023 – Australasia Gaelic Games

By Australasia PRO Sat 1st Jul